IEC 61508 and SIL

Parasoft Development Testing Platform for IEC 61508 compliance combines the industry’s broadest platform for Development Testing practices with Parasoft's groundbreaking infrastructure for development policy management. This provides organizations with unprecedented process visibility and control throughout the SDLC for all flavors of C, C++, Java, and .NET code. Development Testing practices featured include static code analysis, unit testing, code coverage analysis, peer code review, runtime error detection, and traceability.

  • The most comprehensive IEC 61508 SIL compliance solution
  • Ingrain compliance tasks across the SDLC & into the team workflow
  • Find and fix issues rapidly, with minimal disruption
  • Achieve unparalleled process consistency, visibility & traceability
  • Leverage preconfigured templates for common industry standards

Streamline IEC 61508 SIL Compliance

Parasoft streamlines IEC 61508 SIL Compliance with:
  • End-to-end quality management with the most comprehensive solution available
  • A continuous compliance process integrated into the workflow and across the SDLC
  • Unparalleled process consistency, visibility and auditability
  • Comprehensive requirements traceability

Specific IEC 61508 SIL Support

Safety Integrity Level (SIL)-as defined by the IEC 61508 standard-is one of the four levels (SIL1-SIL4) corresponding to the range of a given safety function’s target likelihood of dangerous failures. Each safety function in a safety-related system needs to have appropriate safety integrity level assigned. According to IEC 61508, the safety integrity level for a given function is evaluated based on either the average probability of failure to perform its design function on demand (for a low demand mode of operation) or on the probability of a dangerous failure per hour (for a high demand or continuous mode of operation). The IEC 61508 standard specifies the requirements for achieving each safety integrity level. These requirements are more rigorous at higher levels of safety integrity in order to achieve the required lower likelihood of dangerous failures.